Why Being Black In America Is Challenging

I’m sorry, everyone, it’s been awhile since I wrote a blog and for that I apologize. I’ll get back to doing that probably once a week but I really want to do this more often. I am currently writing for a sports blog. It has been great but I want to get back to talking about life and things in general and I want to get my two cents across.

The title of my first blog posting will get people talking and it should because it is a valid question and is very true. 

Today, being black in America is very challenging because of everything that is going on.

I do not like going on social media and seeing another hashtag or another story involving racism, but unfortunately; this happens on a regular basis. On Saturday night, an officer fired on a car carrying a teenager, Jordan Edwards, a freshman at Mesquite High School in nearby Mesquite, Tex. The Police Department in Balch Springs, Tex., spoke out on  Sunday saying the officer, who has not been arrested, open fired on the care because it was reversing down a street toward the officer in an “aggressive manner.” Jordan and his friends had left a pool party after hearing shots fired.

When I first read about this horrible tragedy, I thought to myself, this is another excuse for a cop to pull somebody over.

But Jonathan Haber, the police chief, told reporters at a news conference on Monday afternoon that the video showed the opposite. He said the officer fired when the car was “moving forward as the officers approached,” according to The Associated Press. The Dallas County medical examiner’s report ruled the death a homicide caused by a “rifle wound” to the head.

Unbelievable. So, they basically knew that the car was moving forward, but you know and I know that the police department in Balch Springs, Texas were protecting the one who pulled the trigger. I am puzzled as to why haven’t they released the officer’s name who murdered Edwards. I understand privacy, however; this officer committed a crime and we should know his name as well! 

Edwards, his brothers and his friends had no weapons in the car and they were simply headed home because the party was getting out of hand and they simply wanted to go home.

My heart breaks for the Edwards family and all of the others who have been victims of police brutality. I am not saying this only happens to black people because I am aware it happens to all races. It wouldn’t matter if Jordan was not a honor roll student and was well liked, he could have been rough and rugged and I would still have this same heartbreak and angered feeling because no human being deserves to die like he did, NOBODY! 

I can name a few reasons why it’s hard being black in America. Sometimes, will be judged the way you act, the clothing you wear, the way in which you wear your hat, the type of hairstyle you have, the type of music you listen to (which I believe can have a negative impact, so that one is 50/50). And there are a few that will say “We’ve had a black president so black people are just as equal as everyone.” I laugh at this expression because this tells me that they don’t think racism exists within America.

I’ve been racially profiled before, as well as my older brother. I know some of my black friend have told me stories of them being profiled, as well. It sucks. When some people say “I don’t see color”, I shake my head because the level of ignorance in that statement explains the tension that is going on in our country. 

My friend and I were having a conversation about this topic and she gave me her honest opinion about it and I was happy we had that. She’s white and wants to focus her career as a social worker helping the black community by bringing justice and equality. I gained a lot from her perspective and those are the conversations we need to have where we don’t yell over each other. We need to listen to one another and join hands with all to make those who live in our country equal to everyone, regardless of race.

God made all of us in our image. We all should be treated like human beings instead of what society thinks of a certain race. Black people have done a lot in this world and we should look at that as good news and more to come. Instead, we choose to profile and look at them like they mean nothing to people.

As a follower of Jesus, I pray every single day that, as world in general, we can come together and end this division. We need to be the generation to love, forgive, help, encourage and be there for one another. 

When I heard about this senseless tragedy of Jordan, I thought of Trayvon Martin, Mike Brown, Sandra Bland, Walter Scott, Eric Garner, Philando Castle, Alton Sterling and the list goes on. 

One day this will end because I faith in Jesus and he will deliver. We have to trust him and believe in his timing. 

Much love,

Jesse

Published by

jessemapati

Follower of Jesus. Work and progress. Saved by his amazing grace and love.

Leave a Reply

